Key technologies

The components and technologies needed for the fully electric operation of city buses without catenaries were developed within the collaborative »Schnellladesysteme für Elektrobusse im ÖPNV (SEB)« project (Fast Charging Systems for Electric Buses in Public Transport), which was funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).
The Fraunhofer IVI coordinated the project.

The pantograph is a joint development of Schunk Bahn- und Industrietechnik GmbH and the Fraunhofer IVI. Using this pantograph, the electric capacity of 250 kW needed for one drive cycle can be transmitted within six minutes.

The required charging station was developed by M&P motion control and power electronics GmbH in Dresden. The charging station is also suitable for very short but intense pulse charging processes during passenger interchange.

For energy storage purposes, a highly compact lithium polymer battery with an energy content of only 85 kWh has been mounted on the 12-meter electric bus. The battery was manufactured by HOPPECKE Advanced Battery Technology GmbH from Zwickau, and the traction equipment was provided by Vossloh Kiepe GmbH.

A serial hybrid bus owned by the Fraunhofer IVI was used as a test platform. This bus was originally manufactured by Göppel Bus GmbH and equipped with traction equipment made by Vossloh Kiepe.

Kerntechnologien

Die Komponenten und Technologien für den rein elektrischen Betrieb städtischer Linienbusse ohne Fahrleitung entstanden im Rahmen des durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten Verbundvorhabens »Schnellladesysteme für Elektrobusse im ÖPNV (SEB)«.
Koordiniert wurde das Projekt vom Fraunhofer IVI.

Der Dachstromabnehmer ist eine gemeinschaftliche Entwicklung der Schunk Bahn- und Industrietechnik GmbH und des Fraunhofer IVI. Die für einen Linienumlauf erforderliche Leistung von 250 Kilowatt kann innerhalb von 6 Minuten übertragen werden.

Bei der dafür erforderlichen Ladestation handelt es sich um eine Entwicklung der Dresdner Firma M&P motion control and power eletronics GmbH. Die Ladestation eignet sich auch für sehr kurze und intensive Pulsladungen während des Fahrgastwechsels.

Zum Speichern der Energie befindet sich auf dem 12-Meter-Elektrobus  ein sehr kompakter Lithium-Polymer-Akku der Hoppecke Advanced Battery Technology GmbH aus Zwickau mit einem Energieinhalt von nur 85 Kilowattstunden. Die Traktionsausrüstung stammt von der Vossloh Kiepe GmbH.

Als Versuchsplattform diente ein serieller Hybridbus des Fraunhofer IVI, der ursprünglich durch die Göppel Bus GmbH gebaut wurde und mit Vossloh Kiepe-Traktionsausrüstung ausgestattet war.